Quality health cover that meets your needs doesn’t need to be complicated or too expensive. We offer you great cover, easy claims, and above all we tell it like it is – Affinity Health

To find out more, give us a call today!

One of our qualified and friendly agents will be happy to assist you.

Call Center:

0861 11 00 33

Fax:

086 607 9419


General Enquiries:

info@affinityhealth.co.za
The Official National Department of Health COVID-19 Support Service: 060 012 3456 (WhatsApp)

Find a Doctor

or Dentist

Hospitals

Where can you go?

Careers

View positions

Pre-Authorisation / 24hr Emergency

0861 11 00 33

CALL BACK

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Keep up to date with everything you need to know about preventing the spread of the 2019 Novel Coronavirus, also known as COVID-19.

We will keep you informed and updated, as and when new information is available. Look out for regular communication from us or follow our social media pages for the latest information.

Stay Updated

If you’re worried about being infected locally or through interaction with someone who has just returned to South Africa – stay on track with news of the disease with live updates on the site below.

What you need to understand

COVID-19 spreads person-to-person.

The Novel Coronavirus spreads between people in any one of the following ways:

  • Between people who are in close contact with one another (within about 6 feet).
  • Spread from contact with infected surfaces or objects; It may be possible that a person can contract COVID-19 by touching a surface or object that has the virus on it and then touching their own mouth, nose, or possibly their eyes, but this is not thought to be the main way the virus spreads.
  • Through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs or sneezes, which land in the mouths or noses of surrounding people and are inhaled into their lungs.
  • People are considered to be most contagious when they are the sickest or when the symptoms are most advanced.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19 infection?

The primary symptoms include the sudden onset of the following:

  • Fever
  • Dry Cough
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing

How can I help protect myself?

There is currently no vaccine to prevent 2019-nCoV infection. The best way to prevent infection is to avoid being exposed to this virus. Everyday preventive actions to help prevent the spread of respiratory viruses, includes:

  • wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. If soap and water are not available, use an alcohol-based hand sanitiser
  • avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands
  • avoid close contact with people who are sick stay home when you are sick
  • cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue, then throw the tissue away.

What does this mean for Affinity Health members?

If you suspect that you may have come into contact with the Coronavirus, the following information is important to note:

  • Please do not rush to your nearest hospital, you need to remain calm and stay indoors and isolated.
  • A health care worker will visit you in your home to collect a specimen and to complete the required documentation.
  • If a healthcare worker is not available, you can request whether a self-testing kit is available from your nearest laboratory or contact your local GP telephonically for advice.
  • Avoid unnecessary social contact.
  • Avoid travel.
  • Remain reachable for monitoring.

If you are in the situation where you feel you may have been exposed to the virus (according to the criteria as set out by the Department of Health), please respond by letting us know which province you are in and we will send you the relevant contact details or you can contact the Department of Health Coronavirus Outbreak Hotline on 0800 029 999.

Affinity Health will cover the following for confirmed cases of COVID-19:

  • Diagnostic testing.
  • Consultations with healthcare professionals.
  • Supportive care and treatment according to the Affinity Health benefit protocols.

Should you require hospitalisation, please contact us immediately to direct you to the closest isolation facility.

We have listed some important contact information below should you require any further information:

Institution/Province: Name: Email address: Contact details
Communicable Disease Control Tsakani Furumele Tsakani.Furumele@health.gov.za 012 395 8096 / 0824199686
Malaria, Vector-borne and Zoonotic Diseases Devanand Moonasar Patric.Moonasar@health.gov.za 0825783107
Wayne Ramkrishna Wayne.Ramkrishna@health.gov.za 0823174687
Port Health Funeka Bongweni Funeka.Bongweni@health.gov.za 012 395 9728 / 0609930107
Environmental Health Murdock Ramathuba Murdock.Ramathuba@health.gov.za 012 395 8518 / 0814150093
Emergency Medical Services Raveen Naidoo Raveen.Naidoo@health.gov.za 12395821
Ahmed Bham Ahmed.Bham@health.gov.za 012 395 9636 / 0735716392
Hospital Services Keneilwe Modise Keneilwe.Modise@health.gov.za 012 395 8257 / 0829648888
Infection Prevention & Control Ronel Steinhobel Ronel.Steinhobel@health.gov.za 012 395 9198 / 0836275661
Provincial Communicable Disease Control Directorate
Eastern Cape Thomas Dlamini thomas.dlamini@echealth.gov.za 0833780189
Nosimphiwo Mgobo Nosiphiwo.Mgobo@echealth.gov.za 0605799027
Free State Dikeledi Baleni balenid@fshealth.gov.za 0837578217
Babsy Nyokong nyokongb@fshealth.gov.za 0824637499
Gauteng Chika Asomugha Chika.Asomugha@gauteng.gov.za 0823301490
Caroline Kesebilwe Caroline.kesebilwe@gauteng.gov.za 0834908165
KwaZulu-Natal Premi Govender premi.govender@kznhealth.gov.za 0716092505
Limpopo Marlene Freda Ngobeni Marlene.Ngobeni@dhsd.limpopo.gov.za 0794911909
Mashudu P. Mudau Prudance.Mudau@dhsd.limpopo.gov.za 0716783864
Mpumalanga Mandla Zwane MandlaZw@mpuhealth.gov.za 0822298893
Hluphi Mpangane hluphim@mpuhealth.gov.za 076 522 8511 / 013 766 3411
North West Chriseldah Lebeko clebeko@nwpg.gov.za 0824217985
Northern Cape Gloria Hottie hottieg@webmail.co.za 072 391 3345 / 053 830 0529
Western Cape Charlene Jacobs Charlene.Jacobs@westerncape.gov.za 072 356 5146 / 021 483 9964
Port Health and Environmental Health
Central Region (Gauteng, Free-State, Northern Cape) Funeka Bongweni Funeka.Bongweni@health.gov.za 0123959728
0609930107
Northern Region (Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West) Ockert Jacobs Ockert.Jacobs@health.gov.za 0123959417
0823720556
Coastal Region (KwaZulu Natal, Northern Cape, Western Cape) Antoinette Hargreaves Antoinette.Hargreaves@health.gov.za 0313010381
0834600935
Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD)
Hotline (24-hours)
Outbreak Response Unit Ann Mathews annm@nicd.ac.za 0660463581
Laboratory Jacqueline Weyer jacquelinew@nicd.ac.za 0829039131
Kerrigan McCarthy
Designated Hospitals
Eastern Cape:
Livingstone Hospital in Nelson Mandela Bay
Western Cape:
Tygerberg Hospital
Gauteng:
Charlotte Maxeke Academic Hospital
Steve Biko Academic Hospital
KwaZulu-Natal
Grey’s Hospital in Pietermaritzburg
Limpopo
Polokwane Hospital
Mpumalanga
Rob Ferreira Hospital in Mbombela
Free State
Pelonomi Academic Hospital in Bloemfontein
North West
Klerksdorp Hospital
Northern Cape
Kimberly Hospital